Treatment updates

UAB News reports new TMS service launched in late 2025

TMS Therapy Alabama editorial teamSource-backed reportingSeptember 26, 20262 min read
Editorial image for UAB News reports new TMS service launched in late 2025
What changed

UAB News says UAB Medicine launched four clinical services in late 2025, including a TMS service offering FDA-approved therapy for treatment-resistant depression.

New service reported

UAB News reports that UAB Medicine announced four new clinical services launched during the fourth quarter of 2025. The announcement included a new transcranial magnetic stimulation, or TMS, service within its psychiatric medicine program.

According to UAB News, the new service offers FDA-approved TMS therapy for treatment-resistant depression. The source describes this as one of four clinical services introduced during the quarter.

Depression treatment offering

UAB News identifies treatment-resistant depression as the condition addressed by the new TMS service. The source also states that the therapy offered is FDA-approved.

The supplied UAB News extract does not provide further details about referrals, eligibility, appointment availability, costs, insurance coverage, treatment schedules, or how patients may access the service. It also does not describe patient outcomes or the number of people expected to use the program.

Alongside the new TMS service, UAB News reports an expansion of early-intervention TEAM Clinics. According to the source, these clinics serve adolescents and young adults with psychosis and mood disorders.

UAB News presents the TEAM Clinic expansion separately from the TMS service announcement. The extract does not state whether the programs share staff, referral pathways, locations, or treatment plans.

A fourth-quarter announcement

The UAB News report characterizes the new TMS service and the TEAM Clinic expansion as part of a broader fourth-quarter 2025 launch of four clinical services. The source does not identify the other services in the supplied extract.

The announcement is a report of service expansion, rather than a change in Alabama law, insurance policy, or statewide public funding. UAB News does not state that the TMS service changes access or coverage for people outside the reporting health system.

What this means for Alabama patients

For people seeking treatment locally, UAB News identifies a newly reported TMS service for treatment-resistant depression. This directory lists 46 published clinics in Alabama, which may help people compare local treatment options.

This is general information, not medical advice.

More Alabama reporting on treatment updates.

This report is educational and is not medical advice. Coverage, availability and eligibility can change; verify details with the named source or your care team.

Related Alabama updates

Find a Provider